The administrator at any level in the hierarchy is able to configure any tile in the system that they have access to. There are two broad categories:
Shared with us
These are the tiles that exist in Airbase. This a combination of the tiles that have been curated by Airhead and those that have been published by the community.
Created by us
These are the tiles that have been created by the administrator for use in that tier. This is especially useful if there are particular resources that you wish to configure for an Authority or establishment that are not currently in Airbase.
To configure tile settings, click Options:
By default, every tile inherits its settings from the tier above. You must click override in order to change settings:
Once you have clicked override, you will be able to configure the tile settings. The options are as follows:
- This tile is available for any role
- This simply means that all users can use the tile
- This tile is available only for selected roles
- When this option is selected, you may choose which of the 6 Airhead roles can use this tile
- The tile is not available for any role
- When selected, no user in the establishment will be able to use the tile
- This tile is available at any location
- When selected, the tile is available to all users regardless of location
- This tile is available only at the school location
- When selected, the tile will only be active when users access Airhead from the school location
- This tile is available except at the school location
- When selected, the tile will only be active when users access Airhead from outside the school location
- This tile is not available at any location
- When selected, the tile will not be available to users regardless of location
Example of unavailable tile
Rather than removing a disallowed tile from a launchpad, the tile will appear shaded out:
A user can right click on the tile and see why it is unavailable to them:
The administrator can set shared credentials for any tile available to them, from both 'Shared with us' and 'Created by us'. If the tile has a green key symbol, it is auto logon enabled. Setting the credentials as administrator will share these credentials amongst all of your users. If the tile does not have the green key symbol, you will still be able to enter shared credentials that your users can see when they look at the tile details. This is intended to act as a password manager/reminder feature. More details on auto logon tiles can be found here.
To set credentials, simply check 'Use shared credentials' and click 'Enter credentials':
You can enter the credentials and save:
If you wish to use a custom web address for a tile, you may enter it here. An example of where this would be useful is Show My Homework. The web address for the Show My Homework tile is www.showmyhomework.co.uk. However, this service uses a custom web address per school. Therefore, your web address may be something like myschool.showmyhomework.co.uk.
Check 'Use a custom web address' and click 'Enter web address':
You can now enter a custom web address and save. This web address is what your users will go to when they click on this tile:
As tile permissions and settings follow the hierarchical model, administrators at higher tiers may wish to either allow or deny administrators at the tier below the ability to override the settings for a tile. This is controlled by the checkbox: