Auto-logon tiles and tile credentials


Within the LaunchPads application it is possible to configure auto-logon or auto-fill tiles with your credentials in order to achieve a full, automatic login to a website or simplified sign on. In addition to this, you are able to save your credentials against any tile. If the tile has not been configured as an auto-logonor auto-fill tile, the username and password will be stored only as a password manager i.e. full, automatic login to that particular website is not possible. The auto-fill feature requires that Flight Attendant is installed and authorised in the Chrome web browser.


Identifying and configuring auto-logon or auto-fill tile


When looking for a tile in the tile picker, those tiles with an orange key symbol have been configured as auto-logon tiles. The orange key denotes that the tile is enable for auto-logon or auto-fill but credentials have not yet been entered:




To enter credentials, right click the tile and click 'Enter here':




If you enter valid credentials, you can click Save to store your credentials securely in your profile:



Now that tile has been configured, the credentials are saved for your instance of the tile on your launchpad. Right clicking the tile to reveal settings and clicking 'Show Details' will show the username and password you have stored in your tile:



You have the ability to remove the credentials or launch the application. Now that you have saved credentials against the tile, the tile appears on your launchpad with a green key symbol to show that it has been fully configured:




NOTE: If you have configured credentials on this tile on a shared launchpad, those people you have shared the launchpad with will NOT have access to the username and password. The tile will show on their view of the launchpad with an orange key symbol. If you wish to have a tile with saved credentials that multiple people can use, this tile must be configured by an administrator. The instructions for this can be found in the Tile Settings section of this article.



Storing credentials against a non auto-logon tile


If a tile does not have a key symbol against it, it has not been configured for auto-logon to that service.




Even though this tile has not been configured for auto-logon, credentials can be stored against it. Right click the tile to edit and click 'Enter here':



Just like an auto-logon tile, you can save a username and password:



When looking back at the tile details, you can see the username and password you have saved:



This is intended to act as a password manager function i.e. an easy access location to pull up the credentials for this service. If you launch the tile, you will not be automatically logged into the website. Now that this tile has credentials stored against it but is not an auto-logon tile, there will be a grey key symbol against it on the launchpad:



NOTE: If you have configured credentials on this tile on a shared launchpad, those people you have shared the launchpad with will NOT have access to the username and password. The tile will show on their view of the launchpad with no key symbol. If you wish to have a tile with saved credentials that multiple people can view, this tile must be configured by an administrator. The instructions for this can be found in the Tile Settings section of this article.